about valentine’s day

Valentine’s Day 2012.

Kevin left EARLY Tuesday morning for Texas.  His professed reason for going to the Lone Star state, (Texas is the Lone Star state, correct?), was for BUSINESS. But I’m sure it had more to do with his new COWBOY boots than his JOB. I’d post a picture of the boots, but the only one I have is terrible even by my low standards. What more really do I need to say other than they’re COWBOY boots?

I don’t like COWBOY boots. They make me laugh and I’m not sure why. I do know that I feel rightfully judgmental when I see real people wearing them. Maybe cuz there cannot possibly be that many REAL COWBOYS in REAL life.

Kevin left presents for Wes and I, bright red bags with red tissue paper and cards for each of us. I mention the full presentation description because the only thing more surprising than his remembering Valentine’s Day is the premeditated purchase of wrapping supplies. It was a wonderful surprise.

Actually Kevin is becoming the present giver in our home, after years of me dominating this position. I realized after Tuesday that I better step up my game. (In my defense I did get a Wes a Valentine’s Pez and Jelly Bellies. I’m not a monster.) I guess I will claim that my gift to Kevin was COWBOY BOOTS.

There, I claimed it.

There’s more to the Valentines’s Day story than just my  basic lack of compassion. It just gets better.

As a favor to my neighbor, (and Wes’ classroom mom), at the last minute I went in her place to Wes’ class party. All I had to do was hand out treats. I got a headache just breathing in all the sugar in the air in the classroom. (Another thing that makes no sense to me… handing out cupcakes and cookies to a bunch of kids already hopped up on Valentine’s candy.)

So, those sugar sated 4th-5th graders were flying high and ready to talk my ears off. Mostly what they wanted to talk about was Wes.

“Why is Wes so funny?” [He gets it from me]

“Does Wes have a little brother?” [That would be Hunter]

“Does Wes play Halo?” [Certainly not]

“How old are Wes’ brothers and sisters?” [Why would they want to know that?]

“Do you know that…

Wes sings I’m too sexy… jumps on our backs at recess… licked marker off his desk… hugs Mrs. —— and asked her to marry him… is the funniest kid in our class… etc… etc.. and I’m talking a lot of etceteras. ”

I was overwhelmed with all this information and although I know that Wes is a good kid and doesn’t mean to hurt anyone, I wasn’t happy with all of what those sugared up narcs were telling me. In fact, I was kinda ticked at him. I gave Wes a lot of dirty looks and told everyone that I was going to ground Wes when he got home.

So of course when Wes got home he assumes I’m going to ground him. Which puts him on the defensive. Of course. And what do I do? Lecture him, of course. (BTW, I was not going to, in fact, ground him. But he didn’t know that).

Maybe y’all think that is what I always do, i.e., over-react, but the fact is that there has been a storm brewing concerning Wes and some of his behavior, and I leapt before I looked at the big picture. Truth be told, the big picture didn’t come into focus for me until late Tuesday evening. I was too quick to condemn and I embarrassed him. Nothing that the kids at school told me was anything I didn’t know already.

So, after my stellar performance at putting Wes in his place, we both had a terrible rest of Valentine’s day. It is my speciality to take a good mood and turn it into bad. He was so sad and dejected and grumpy the rest of the day. And I felt so crappy. His friend invited him over to make cookies and eat pizza and I was only to happy to let him.

When he came home it was clear to me that he was still upset. I tried to talk to him and he told me that he has no friends and no one to hang out with at recess… the two things that cut to my heart the quickest. He worked himself up so much that he missed school Wednesday. There is such a thing as your emotions making you sick. I made him go Thursday and he seems back to himself now. He was positively giddy before he left this morning. ps. 4 boys were at our house yesterday playing with my sweet and crazy Wes. [I’m still not sure what to think about his meltdown over friends/recess. As far as can tell, that really isn’t a problem. I guess we all feel that way sometimes.]

Is it any wonder that he made this cookie for me? Can you see his fake smile? sigh.

I’ve mentioned our new kitty, George Michael, right? What I didn’t know about GM is that he is a chameleon. I think it’s quite fortunate that he matches our decor.

I also underestimated how much I would love, did I say love?, I mean LIKE, this kitty. HI.LAR.EE.US.

Leave a Reply

